The State Bar of California, 180 Howard Street, San Francisco, CA 94105
TFARR: Recommendation A Working Group
Notice and Agenda
Wednesday, April 23, 2014
10:00 a.m. - 2:00 p.m.**
The State Bar Of California
845 South Figueroa Street
Board Room, 2nd Floor
Los Angeles, CA 90017-2515
(213) 765-1000

Questions regarding any agenda item should be directed to the Committee Coordinator(s), Teri Greenman at (415) 538-2454 or Chair, Jon Streeter at (415) 676-2249. Committee members are requested to notify the Committee Coordinator as early as possible in advance of the meeting if they wish to remove any item/s from the consent agenda.

Committee Members: David Balabanian, Dean Gregory Brandes, Hon. Steven Brick, Richard Burdge, Jr., Renee Chantler, Dean Erwin Chemerinsky, Hon. Karen Clopton, Laura Cohen, Glenda Corcoran, Scot Fishman, Erika Frank, Richard Frankel, Prof. Luz Herrera, Patrick Kelly, Dean Lisa Kloppenberg, Megan Knize, Prof. Shauna Marshall, Mairi McKeever, Marcella McLaughlin, David Pasternak, Ireneo Reus III, Robert Shives, Dean Deanell Tacha, Hernán Vera, Prof. Robert Weisberg, Prof. Charles Weisselberg, Patricia White, Dean Mitchel Winick, Dean Frank Wu.
The rules of the State Bar permit Board members who are not committee members to participate but not vote in the committee meeting. If a majority of Board members is present, the meeting is a meeting of the Board as a whole but no formal action by the full Board will take place.

The order of business is approximate and subject to change.

For meetings of the Board and Board Committees. Committee meetings and items scheduled for a particular day may be moved to an earlier or later day to facilitate business of the Board and Board Committees.

**A meeting of the Task Force on Admissions Regulation Reform (TFARR) Phase II Implementation will commence upon the conclusion of the concurrent working group sessions.

Working Group A Members

Shauna Marshall, Chair
David Balabanian
Gregory Brandes
Lisa Kloppenberg
Marcella McLaughlin
Deanell Tacha
Robert Weisberg
Charles D. Weisselberg
Patricia White
Mitchel Winick
Michele Neitz***
Eileen A. Scallen***

***Ex Officio Member
Open Session

I. Chair's Report
Oral Report
Call For Public Comment
II. Consent
III. Action
IV. Discussion/Information
A. Brief Review of March 10, 2014 Meeting
B. Combined Discussion: Recommendation A and Recommendation C Working Groups:
  •  Overlap of 15 units of Practice-Based, Experiential Training with 10 Hours Competency Training MCLE/Mentoring Option
C. Continue Discussion on California’s Proposed Recommendation for 15 Units of Practice-Based Experiential Training in Law School/Apprenticeship Option (Recommendation A):
  • Input from California Law Deans re Exemption for Foreign-Trained LLMs
  • Discussion on Apprenticeship option - Summer employment
  • Discussion Draft of Proposed Rules
D. Guest Speaker: Corporate Legal Services - Skills Needed to Serve Industry Clients
E. Call For Public Comment
F. Next Steps and Assignments
V. Reports
Closed Session

* Closed under Bus. & Prof. Code § 6026.5(h) for a joint meeting with another judicial branch agency under Article VI of the California Constitution.