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DATE: July 13, 2017

TO: Members, Planning & Budget Committee
Members, Board of Trustees

FROM: Andrew Conover, Principal Analyst
Office of Research and Institutional Accountability

SUBJECT: Recommendation to Adjust and Align Minimum Continuing Legal
Education (MCLE) and Legal Specialization Provider Certification Fees

EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

Minimum Continuing Legal Education (MCLE) and Legal Specialization Provider Certification
Fees have not been adjusted in many years. Adjustment and alignment of both types of fees is
recommended at this time. The recommended 20 percent fee increase will eliminate the current
structural deficit in these programs; alignment of the fee administration process and moving the
renewal deadline will increase efficiency for both the State Bar and providers.

BACKGROUND AND METHODS

As part of ongoing fiscal accountability and management work being done in 2017, staff has
reviewed a host of fees for service charged by the State Bar including Foreign Legal
Consultants, Multi-Jurisdictional Practice, Pro Hac Vice, Practical Training Law Students, Out-
of-State Attorney Arbitration Counsel, Law Corporations, Limited Liability Partners, Law School
Regulation, Legal Specialization and Minimum Continuing Legal Education Provider
Certification. As a result of that process, three fees are being recommended for modification:

e Law School Regulation

e MCLE Provider Certification

e Legal Specialization Certification

The Law School Regulation fee proposal was submitted to the Committee of Bar Examiners for
review at its June 23, 2017 meeting; the proposed new fees are being circulated to impacted
law schools for comment, with this item slated to come to the BOT at its September meeting.

This memorandum addresses MCLE Provider and Legal Specialization Certification fees.

The method for evaluating and benchmarking fees across all areas has consisted of two
components. First, wherever feasible, State Bar fees were compared to fees in other states that
operate similar programs. It should be noted that there are sometimes significant differences
between programs in California and those in other states that may make these comparisons
problematic. Wherever possible, differences between the fee structure and the responsible state



entity in California and in other states were identified and adjusted to make a comparison
possible.

The second component of the evaluation consisted of estimating the operating costs for
different State Bar programs and determining if revenue from the programs covered these
costs. State Bar fees were evaluated relative to the full costs of administering each program,
including personnel and overhead. The baseline question for this part of the evaluation is
whether fees are set at a level sufficient to recover costs to the State Bar.

In all but three of the programs reviewed so far this year program revenue appears to cover
operating costs. The State Bar's Law School Regulation program and the Minimum Continuing
Legal Education (MCLE) and Legal Specialization Provider Certification programs all operate at
a deficit. Recommendations for addressing that deficit follow.

Minimum Continuing Legal Education

With very few exceptions, the State Bar requires active attorneys to complete 25 hours of MCLE
every three years (including minimum hours in certain educational categories). Providers of
MCLE must be certified by the State Bar to offer courses in California. New providers begin the
certification process by applying to offer a single class to attorneys, as a Single Activity Provider
(SAP). MCLE providers that successfully offer four approved classes within a three-year period
may elect to become certified to offer multiple courses with a single application process, making
them a Multiple Activity Provider (MAP).

Fees for MCLE providers differ depending upon whether the provider operates as a SAP or a
MAP. Applications for certification to offer a single program (SAP) are currently $75 and courses
may be offered for up to two years if the course material is unchanged.! Applications for
certification to offer multiple programs (MAP) are $200 and last for up to two years, depending
on the application date. Finally, renewals of MAP certification cost $300 and last for three years.

State Bar MCLE Provider Certification Revenue and Operating Costs

Revenue received from the MCLE certification process over the last five years averages
$258,415 per year. The table below summarizes the year-to-year fluctuations. Changes in
revenue from year to year are driven largely by differences in the provider renewal cycles,
however there is a downward trend of new and renewing MAP providers over this five-year
period.
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! Rule or other material changes require recertification.
Page 2



The current cost to operate this program is $291,150 per year, reflecting an annual structural
deficit of $41,850. (Detailed cost information is provided as Attachment A.)

The MCLE Provider Certification Program was managed in the Admissions Special Education
group until December 31 of last year; its staff and functions have just been transferred to the
Member Records and Compliance group. This program is currently managed in the San
Francisco office, with two administrative staff and a portion of one supervisor and another senior
administrator allotting a portion of their time processing applications and the renewals in
addition to other program audit functions.

Comparison of State Bar Fees to Other Jurisdictions

Five jurisdictions (Massachusetts, Michigan, Maryland, South Dakota and the District of
Columbia) do not have a Continuing Legal Education requirement. Of the remaining states, 17
reported that providers need not be certified to offer courses and therefore that they do not
collect any fees for this purpose. In addition to program fees, some states charge a fee based
on usage, either per attendee or per attendee credit hours. For a number of reasons, including
difficulty of administration, staff is not recommending charging attendance fees at this time. As a
result, those types of structures are not addressed in this memorandum

Of the states that do charge fees, ready comparisons between those structures and California’s
are complicated by the SAP/MAP distinction. Of the states that do charge something equivalent
to a SAP fee, fees assessed range from $25 to $150.

Only West Virginia, New Jersey, lllinois, Pennsylvania, Delaware and New Hampshire offer a
program similar to our MAP application process, typically referred to as accredited sponsors.
Four of these jurisdictions charge a flat fee regardless of provider type; lllinois and New Jersey
assess fees on a sliding scale, or pre-set fee tiers. For example, lllinois charges $300 annually
to government providers, Lawyers Assistance Program providers and certain non-profits, but up
to $3,000 annually for larger, national and for-profit organizations. New Jersey charges MAP
fees based on the number of courses a given provider offers.

SAP certifications represent on average 64 percent of the application volume for Member
Records and Compliance staff. Appendix B shows that raising the SAP fee to $90 will allow the
State Bar to recover the costs of processing these applications while ensuring that California’s
fees remain within the comparable national range.

MAP applications and renewals represent approximately 36 percent of the submission volume
staff processes each year. Current MAP fees are set at a level that does not cover the cost of
administering the applications process, and they are not in line with other states which charge,
at a minimum, an annual fee equivalent to the State Bar's multi-year fee. In addition, most other
jurisdictions that assess MAP fees do not have a complicated structure whereby different fees
are assessed initially and upon renewal. Staff recommends eliminating this distinction going
forward, which will increase the initial application period to a maximum of three years (same as
each renewal period)?.

% The actual number of months for the initial MAP certification will depend on the date the application is
submitted.
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Based on the above analysis, staff recommends adoption of the following new SAP and MAP
fees:

Current MCLE SAP Fee:  $75

New MCLE SAP Fee: $90

Current MCLE MAP Application Fee: $200
Current MCLE MAP Renewal Fee: $300
New MCLE MAP Fee: $360

Legal Specialization

The Legal Specialization (LS) program certifies attorneys as specialists in certain areas of law.
Attorneys who want to become certified must complete 45 hours of education in their specialty
field during the three years prior to applying for certification; after becoming certificated they must
complete 36 hours of specialization-certified MCLE. The Legal Specialization Provider Certification
Program approves the providers and the course content that legal specialists use to comply with
these requirements. Activities approved for Legal Specialization credit are also approved for
regular MCLE credit. Under the current design of the Legal Specialization certification program
there are both SAP and MAP providers similar to the MCLE Provider Certifications.

Operating Revenue and Costs

Revenue received from the Legal Specialization Provider Accreditation process over the last
five years averages $22,950 per year. The table below summarizes the year-to year
fluctuations. Changes in revenue from year to year are driven largely by differences in the
provider renewal cycles and although much smaller than the MCLE providers, trending
downward in number of total providers participating.

Annual Leqal Specialization Provider

200

s
Q

THOUSANDS +n»

100 $20

PROVIDER
REVENUE

PROVIDER
VOLUME

2013 2014 2015 2016 2017

PROJECTED

The current cost to operate this program is $30,667 per year, reflecting an annual structural
deficit of $7,042. (Detailed cost information is provided as Attachment A.)

Comparison to Other States
No other states were found to offer a separate Legal Specialization Provider Accreditation
process separately from their MCLE programs, providing no specific benchmark. As the

provider accreditation processes are very similar, and both are deemed to be under-funded,

Page 4



staff recommends that these two programs be combined for the provider registration and
certification processes. Not only would this allow for some operational efficiency to be realized
with application processing and future attendance reporting, but discounts could be offered for
those providers who are currently required to apply to both programs separately. Staff
recommends that the fees for MCLE Provider Certification and Legal Specialization Certification
be aligned and require that all Legal Specialization providers also be certified to offer MCLE to
the broader attorney population. To help mitigate the expense to providers who currently are
required to apply to both programs independently, a discount of 75% is recommended for the
second (dual) certification® as follows:

Current LS SAP Fee:  $75 (Legal Spec only)
New MCLE+LS SAP Fee: $112 (dual)
Current LS MAP Application Fee: $300 (Legal Spec only)
Current LS MAP Renewal Fee: $300 (Legal Spec only)
New MCLE+LS MAP Fee: $450 (dual)

In addition to aligning fees, staff anticipates merging the certification responsibilities in Member
Records and Compliance, with one group of experienced staff handling both.

Modification of Renewal Dates

Staff recommends that these new fees be effective January 1, 2018, but that the anniversary
date for renewals of both MCLE and Legal Specialization Providers be moved from December
31 to June 30 each year. Doing so will more effectively stagger existing workload and allow the
State Bar to better utilize staff resources, as well as provide an initial additional six months of
certification for providers at no additional cost.

The Legal Specialization Provider Accreditation Program is currently managed in the Special
Admissions group in the San Francisco office, with one administrative staff, one supervisor and
a Director allotting a portion of their time processing applications and the provider renewals.

FISCAL/PERSONNEL IMPACT

Although extending the MAP renewal dates will defer some revenue into 2018, the
recommended 20% fee increase for the MCLE and Legal Specialization Providers is projected
to generate an additional maximum $51,137 combined, and will eliminate the existing structural

deficit for both programs. It is difficult to gauge how future provider application volumes will be
affected by this recommended fee increase for the variety of current providers.

RULE AMENDMENTS

None.

BOARD BOOK IMPACT

None.

® Discount for Legal Specialization certification would apply only if processed in a single joint application.
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BOARD GOALS & OBJECTIVES

2017-2022 Strategic Plan Goals and Objectives:

(2d) Develop and implement new attorney MCLE requirements and evaluate their impact
and effectiveness.

(2e) Develop and implement an effective mechanism for ensuring compliance with
MCLE requirements.

(2i) Review special admissions rules (Multijurisdictional Practice, Pro Hac Vice,
Registered In-House Counsel, Out of State Attorney Arbitration Counsel, Foreign Legal
Consultants, and Practical Training of Law Students Program) to determine whether
changes are needed, and implement needed changes.

(3d) Reallocate funds to support the discipline system based on expenditure review,
revenue enhancement measures, implementation of the Bar’s reserve policy, and other
reengineering efforts.

RECOMMENDATIONS

Should the Planning and Budget Committee agree with the above recommendation, the
following resolution would be appropriate:

RESOLVED, that the Planning and Budget Committee recommends that the Board of
Trustees approve raising the MCLE and Legal Specialization Single Activity Providers
fee to $90; and it is

FURTHER RESOLVED, that the Board of Trustees approve raising the MCLE Multiple
Activity Provider application fee to $360 and increase the initial certification period from
two years to a maximum of three years; and it is

FURTHER RESOLVED, that the Board of Trustees require that new Legal
Specialization Multiple Activity Providers must also certify as MCLE Providers at $360
and optionally add the additional certification for Legal Specialization for an additional
$90; and it is

FURTHER RESOLVED, that the Board of Trustees approve raising the three-year
MCLE Multiple Activity Provider renewal fees to $360; and it is

FURTHER RESOLVED, that the Board of Trustees approve raising the renewal fee to
$450 for the Providers who are seeking renewal for both MCLE and Legal Specialization
programs.

ATTACHMENT(S) LIST

A.

B.

Internal Resources / Cost Summary

MCLE State Comparison
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