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EXECUTIVE SUMMARY 

The State Bar of California  Regulation and Discipline Committee is asked to authorize a 60-day 
public comment period for two proposed new State Bar Rules of Procedure and 23 amended 
State Bar Rules of Procedure.1 These proposals fall into three different categories: (1) 
amendments to Rule 5.137, the recently enacted rule setting forth guidelines for the imposition 
and collection of monetary sanctions; (2) new and amended rules necessary to implement the 
imposition of monetary sanctions pursuant to Rule 5.137; and (3) amendments to Rule 5.136 to 
clarify when court orders may require reimbursement to the Client Security Fund (CSF). 

The new and amended rules regarding monetary sanctions are necessary, inter alia, to ensure 
consistent notification to attorneys regarding the imposition of the sanctions, to provide a 
process for both parties to present evidence to State Bar Court regarding the amount of 
monetary sanctions to be imposed, to provide a process for attorneys to seek reduction, 
waiver, or extension of time to pay imposed sanctions, and to specify that an agreement 
regarding monetary sanctions must be included in stipulated dispositions. 

The amendments to Rule 5.136 are necessary to ensure consistency with case law regarding the 
nature of CSF payouts. 

1 All further references to rules are to the State Bar Rules of Procedure unless otherwise indicated. 
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BACKGROUND 

Business and Professions Code section 6086.13,2 effective January 1, 1994, requires that the 
State Bar, with the approval of the California Supreme Court, adopt rules setting forth 
guidelines for the imposition and collection of monetary sanctions to be imposed in connection 
with the suspension or disbarment of attorneys. 

At its November 14, 2019 meeting, the Board of Trustees approved a resolution authorizing 
staff to submit to the California Supreme Court for approval proposed Rule 5.137, which 
provides guidelines for the recommendation and imposition of monetary sanctions in attorney 
disciplinary proceedings and for collected monetary sanctions to be deposited into the CSF. The 
rule was approved by the California Supreme Court on March 23, 2020, with an effective date 
of April 1, 2020. 

A number of new and amended rules are necessary to implement the requirements set forth in 
rule 5.137. While reviewing the rules, staff also determined that Rule 5.137 itself needed 
clarification and that amendments to Rule 5.136 were necessary to correct certain legal 
inaccuracies. 

All proposed new and amended rules are attached in redline as Attachment A and presented in 
numerical order. 

DISCUSSION 

Proposed Amendments to Rule 5.137 

Section 6086.13, subdivision (a) and Rule 5.137, subdivision (A) provide that monetary 
sanctions may not exceed “$5,000 for each violation.” Rule 5.137, subdivision (B) defines a 
“violation” as “each count (including its subparts) contained in a Notice of Disciplinary Charges 
for which the State Bar Court has found the licensee culpable, or each violation of a rule or 
statute the attorney admits to have violated in a stipulation.” In conviction proceedings, 
however, there is no Notice of Disciplinary Charges. Rather, the proceeding is initiated by a 
certified copy of the conviction or sentencing record. (Rule 5.341.) To provide for monetary 
sanctions to be ordered in criminal conviction proceedings resulting in actual suspension or 
disbarment, or resignations with charges pending, staff recommends amending Rule 5.137, 
subdivision (B) to specify that the definition of “violation” includes each record of criminal 
conviction transmitted to State Bar Court. 

Staff also recommends amending Rule 5.137, subdivision (E)(5) to specify that stipulations for 
actual suspension or disbarment must include an agreement regarding the imposition of 
monetary sanctions. This is necessary because a stipulated disposition must include an 
agreement regarding an attorney’s entire discipline, including monetary sanctions. 

2 All further references to section are to the Business and Professions Code unless otherwise indicated. 
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Staff has also added language to Rule 5.137, subdivision (G) specifying that, in addition to 
enforcement of a monetary sanctions order as a money judgment, monetary sanctions may be 
collected through any means provided by law. This language is necessary because the State Bar 
engages in a number of collections mechanisms besides the entry of money judgments, 
including participation in the Franchise Tax Board’s debt collection programs. 

Lastly, staff proposes language stating that the rule applies to disciplinary and criminal 
conviction proceedings commenced and stipulation signed after April 1, 2020, the effective 
date of the Supreme Court’s order approving the rule. 

Proposed New and Amended Rules Necessary to Implement Rule 5.137 

Staff proposes a number of new and amended rules to implement Rule 5.137. These proposals 
are summarized in the below bullet points and segregated by category. Attachment A has the 
full language of the new and amended rules in numerical order. 

Amendments to Rules Necessary to Provide Notice Regarding the Imposition of Monetary 
Sanctions 

These proposed amendments notify the attorney of the potential imposition of monetary 
sanctions before an early neutral evaluation conference and before the commencement of the 
disciplinary proceeding, criminal conviction proceeding, or proceeding based on misconduct in 
another jurisdiction. These amendments also notify the attorney that monetary sanctions may 
be imposed as a consequence of an attorney’s default, as well as in probation revocation 
proceedings. 

· Rule 5.30 (written notice of the early neutral evaluation conference must state that the 
attorney may be ordered to pay disciplinary costs and monetary sanctions); 

· Rule 5.41 (Notice of Disciplinary Charges must contain a statement that the attorney 
may be ordered to pay disciplinary costs and monetary sanctions); 

· Rule 5.80 (motion and order for entry of default for failure to file a timely response 
must include notice of the potential imposition of monetary sanctions); 

· Rule 5.81 (the court’s order of default for failure to appear at trial must include notice 
of the potential imposition of monetary sanctions); 

· Rule 5.82 (adding the imposition of monetary sanctions as one of the consequences of 
an attorney’s default); 

· Rule 5.85 (the court’s ruling if the attorney fails to file a response to a petition for 
disbarment after default, or the court denies a motion to set aside or vacate the default, 
may recommend the imposition monetary sanctions); 
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· Rule 5.312 (the court must make a recommendation regarding monetary sanctions, if 
applicable, in probation revocation proceedings); 

· Rule 5.345 (the notice commencing a criminal conviction proceeding must include a 
statement that the attorney may be ordered to pay disciplinary costs and monetary 
sanctions); and 

· Rule 5.351 (the Notice of Disciplinary Charges filed in proceedings based on professional 
misconduct in another jurisdiction must include a statement that the attorney may be 
ordered to pay disciplinary costs and monetary sanctions). 

Amendments to Rules Necessary to Add Monetary Sanction to Stipulations 

The amendments below add an acknowledgment of monetary sanctions in stipulations as to 
facts and conclusions of law, and clarify that stipulated disposition for actual suspension or 
disbarment must include an agreement regarding monetary sanctions. This is necessary 
because a stipulated disposition must include an agreement regarding an attorney’s entire 
discipline, including monetary sanctions. 

· Rule 5.55 (an attorney must acknowledge the imposition of monetary sanctions, in 
addition to disciplinary costs, in a stipulation as to facts and conclusion of law); 

· Rules 5.56 and 5.57 (a stipulated disposition for actual suspension or disbarment must 
include an agreement on the amount of monetary sanctions, whether a payment plan or 
extension of time will be allowed and the specifics of such plan or extension, or whether 
a waiver of the monetary sanction is agreed to, and the reasons); and 

· Rule 5.427 (a stipulation regarding pending investigations, complaints, or proceedings 
filed in resignation with charges pending proceedings must include an agreement on the 
amount of monetary sanctions, whether a payment plan or extension of time will be 
allowed and the specifics of such plan or extension, or whether a waiver of the 
monetary sanction is agreed to, and the reasons). 

Amendments to Rules Necessary to Provide Information and Evidence Regarding the Amount 
of Monetary Sanctions Sought by Both Parties 

The amendments below set forth how and when the parties may present information and 
evidence to State Bar Court regarding the amount of monetary sanctions requested by each 
party, and the reasons therefor, as well as a process for the attorney to seek a waiver or 
extension of time for payment of these sanctions prior to disposition. (Rule 5.137(E)(4).) 

· Rule 5.44.1 (the initial status conference may include discussion regarding the amount 
of monetary sanctions sought and the reasons); 
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· Rule 5.101 (each parties’ positions as to the amount of monetary sanctions and/or 
details of waiver or payment plan must be included in the pretrial statement if the 
disposition sought is actual suspension or disbarment); 

· Rule 5.102.1 (the parties shall present evidence regarding monetary sanctions in 
disciplinary proceedings following evidence as to culpability); 

· Rule 5.157 (adding disagreement over monetary sanctions as a subject appropriate for 
summary review); and 

· Rule 5.343 (the Office of Chief Trial Counsel must include the amount of monetary 
sanctions, and/or details of a monetary sanctions payment plan or waiver in its motion 
for an attorney’s summary disbarment). 

New and Amended Rules Necessary for Relief from Monetary Sanctions 

Rule 5.137, subdivisions (E)(5) and (6) allow attorneys to file a motion with State Bar Court 
and/or stipulate with the Office of Chief Trial Counsel for a reduction, waiver, or extension of 
time for payment of monetary sanctions after they have been ordered. New and amended rules 
are necessary to provide a process for attorneys to seek this relief. These rules were modeled 
after similar rules related to disciplinary costs (Rules 5.130-5.134). 

Staff also recommends minor amendments to Rule 5.132 (stipulation regarding disciplinary 
costs) to make the language consistent with these new proposed rules. 

· Rule 5.132 (minor clarification of language regarding stipulation to waiver, reduction, or 
extension of time for payment of disciplinary costs); 

· Rule 5.134 (if attorney fails to make timely installment payment of monetary sanctions, 
the Court must recommend that the unpaid balance become due and payable 
immediately); 

· Rule 5.138 (new rule setting forth a process for the attorney to seek a reduction, waiver, 
or extension of time to pay monetary sanctions, modeled after Rule 5.130 [disciplinary 
costs]); and 

· Rule 5.139 (new rule setting forth a process for a stipulation between the attorney and 
the Office of Chief Trial Counsel for a reduction, waiver, or extension of time to pay 
monetary sanctions, modeled after Rule 5.132 [disciplinary costs]). 

Amendments to Rule 5.441 to Add Payment of Monetary Sanctions as a Reinstatement 
Requirement 

Rule 5.137(F) provides that “[m]onetary sanctions shall be paid in full as a condition of 
reinstatement or return to active status, unless time for payment is extended pursuant to this 
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rule.” Amendments are therefore necessary to Rule 5.441, subdivision (b)(2) to add proof of 
payment of monetary sanctions as a petition for reinstatement pre-filing requirement. 

Proposed Amendments to Rule 5.136 

Amendments to Rule 5.136 are necessary to avoid conflict with CSF authority and the CSF rules. 
Rule 5.136 currently states that “In any disciplinary recommendation or order, the Court must 
include a recommendation or order that the attorney reimburse the Client Security Fund for 
any funds paid out under Business and Professions Code section 6140.5 because of the 
attorney’s misconduct.” Section 6140.5 authorizes the CSF to reimburse victims of attorney 
misconduct, but is not limited to reimbursement of those specific victims or payees named in 
disciplinary orders. 

While the State Bar Court may recommend or order that the attorney reimburse CSF for funds 
paid out under section 6140.5, if CSF reimburses those payees named in the disciplinary order, 
it may not recommend or order that the attorney reimburse CSF for additional payments made 
pursuant to section 6140.5 because of the attorney’s misconduct. This is because the CSF is a 
legislative remedy “in addition to disciplinary measures and civil actions to reimburse clients for 
losses caused by the wrongful conduct of attorneys.” (Saleeby v. State Bar (1985) 39 Cal.3d 547, 
558–559 [emphasis in original].) Since reimbursement from CSF in a case that was not part of a 
disciplinary order “does not involve discipline . . . of attorneys” (id.), the State Bar Court does 
not have jurisdiction to recommend or order such CSF reimbursement. 

An amendment to Rule 5.136 is also necessary to clarify when reimbursement to CSF must be 
made. The rule currently states that ordered reimbursement “must be paid within 30 days after 
the effective date of the final disciplinary order or within 30 days after the Client Security Fund 
payment is disbursed, whichever is later.” The CSF rules, however, provide a process for 
Superior Court review within 90 days of the final CSF decision. (State Bar Rule 3.450.) Staff 
recommends that Rule 5.136 be amended to clarify that the payment obligation runs from the 
date of the final CSF determination, rather than the date of payment disbursement. 

FISCAL/PERSONNEL IMPACT 

If adopted, these rules will allow the State Bar to effectively implement Rule 5.137 and begin 
recommending monetary sanctions, which should result in increased funding to the CSF. (Bus. 
& Prof. Code, § 6086.13 (b) [“Monetary sanctions. . shall be deposited into the Client Security 
Fund”].) 

Adoption of these rules could also necessitate additional resources in the Office of Chief Trial 
Counsel to handle requests by attorneys for reduction, waiver, or extension of time for 
payment of monetary sanctions. 

AMENDMENTS TO RULES OF THE STATE BAR 

Title 5, Division 2, Chapter 1, Rule 5.30 
Title 5, Division 2, Chapter 2, Rule 5.41 
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Title 5, Division 2, Chapter 2, Rule 5.44.1 
Title 5, Division 2, Chapter 2, Rule 5.55 
Title 5, Division 2, Chapter 2, Rule 5.56 
Title 5, Division 2, Chapter 2, Rule 5.57 
Title 5, Division 2, Chapter 4, Rule 5.80 
Title 5, Division 2, Chapter 4, Rule 5.81 
Title 5, Division 2, Chapter 4, Rule 5.82 
Title 5, Division 2, Chapter 4, Rule 5.85 
Title 5, Division 2, Chapter 5, Rule 5.101 
Title 5, Division 2, Chapter 5, Rule 5.102.1 
Title 5, Division 2, Chapter 6, Rule 5.132 
Title 5, Division 2, Chapter 6, Rule 5.134 
Title 5, Division 2, Chapter 6, Rule 5.136 
Title 5, Division 2, Chapter 6, Rule 5.137 
Title 5, Division 3, Rule 5.157 
Title 5, Division 5, Chapter 2, Rule 5.312 
Title 5, Division 6, Chapter 2, Rule 5.343 
Title 5, Division 6, Chapter 2, Rule 5.345 
Title 5, Division 6, Chapter 3, Rule 5.351 
Title 5, Division 7, Chapter 2, Rule 5.427 
Title 5, Division 7, Chapter 3, Rule 5.441 

NEW RULES OF THE STATE BAR 

Title 5, Division 2, Chapter 6, Rule 5.138 
Title 5, Division 2, Chapter 6, Rule 5.139 

AMENDMENTS TO BOARD OF TRUSTEES POLICY MANUAL 

None 

STRATEGIC PLAN GOALS & OBJECTIVES 

Goal: 2. Ensure a timely, fair, and appropriately resourced admissions, discipline, and regulatory 
system for the more than 250,000 lawyers licensed in California. 

Objective: d. Support adequate funding of the Client Security Fund. 

RECOMMENDATIONS 

Should the Regulation and Discipline Committee concur in the proposed action, passage of 
the following resolution is recommended: 
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RESOLVED, that the Regulation and Discipline Committee authorizes staff to make 
available for a 60-day public comment period proposed new and amended State Bar 
Rules of Procedure, attached hereto as Attachment A. 

ATTACHMENT(S) LIST 

A. New and Amended State Bar Rules of Procedure 



ATTACHMENT A 

Rules of Procedure 
of the 
State Bar of California 

April 1, 2020 
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TITLE 5. DISCIPLINE 

Rules of Procedure of the State Bar of California 
Adopted effective January 1, 2011 and amended as indicated below. 

Division 2. Case Proceedings 
Chapter 1. Commencement of Proceedings 

Rule 5.30 Prefiling; Early Neutral Evaluation Conference 

(A) Early Neutral Evaluation Conference. Prior to the filing of disciplinary charges, the 
Office of Chief Trial Counsel will notify the attorney in writing of the right to request 
an Early Neutral Evaluation Conference. The written notice must state that the 
attorney may be ordered to pay costs pursuant to Business and Professions Code 
section 6086.10, and monetary sanctions pursuant to Business and Professions Code 
section 6086.13 and rule 5.137 of the Rules of Procedure of the State Bar. Either 
party may request an Early Neutral Evaluation Conference. A party will have 10 days 
from the date of service of notice to request a conference. To schedule a conference, 
a requesting party must use the court-approved form located on the court’s website 
and must submit it to the proper venue by personal delivery, facsimile, email, or mail. 
In the request, the party must supply multiple dates agreed to by opposing counsel for 
the conference. Failure to request a conference within that time is deemed a waiver of 
the right to request a conference. If proper notice is provided, failure to hold a 
conference will not be a basis for dismissal of a proceeding. A State Bar Court hearing 
judge will conduct the conference within 15 days of the request. 

(B) Judicial Evaluation. At the conference, the judge must give the parties an oral 
evaluation of the facts and charges and the potential for imposing discipline. If the 
parties then resolve the matter in a way that requires cCourt approval, the Office of 
Chief Trial Counsel must document the resolution and submit it to the Evaluation 
judge for approval or rejection. 

(C) Evidence. The Office of Chief Trial Counsel must submit a copy of the draft notice of 
disciplinary charges, or other written summary to the judge no later than three court 
days prior to the conference. Failure to do so within the specified time may result in 
the conference being rescheduled for a later date. The documentation must include 
the rules and statutes alleged to have been violated by the attorney, a summary of the 
facts supporting each violation, and the Office of Chief Trial Counsel’s settlement 
position,  including the amount of monetary sanctions being sought and the reasons. 
Each party may submit documents and information to supports its position. 

(D) Confidentiality. The conference is confidential. A party may designate any document it 
submits for in camera inspection only. 
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(E) Trial Judge. Unless otherwise stipulated by the parties, the Early Neutral Evaluation 
judge cannot be the trial judge in a later proceeding involving the same facts. 

Chapter 2.  Pleadings, Motions, and Stipulations 

Rule 5.41 Notice of Disciplinary Charges 

(A) Initial Pleading. A notice of disciplinary charges is the initial pleading in a disciplinary 
proceeding, unless specified otherwise in the rules. 

(B) Contents. The notice of disciplinary charges must: 
(1) cite the statutes, rules, or Court orders that the attorney allegedly violated or 

that warrant the proposed action; 
(2) contain facts, in concise and ordinary language, comprising the violations in 

sufficient detail to permit the preparation of a defense; no technical averments 
or any allegations of matters not essential to be proved are required; 

(3) relate the stated facts to the statutes, rules, or Court orders that the attorney 
allegedly violated or that warrant the proposed action; 

(4) contain a notice that the attorney may be ordered to pay costs, pursuant to 
Business and Professions Code section 6086.10, and monetary sanctions 
pursuant to section 6086.13 and rule 5.137 of the Rules of Procedure of the State 
Bar; and  

(4)(5) contain the following language in capital letters at or near the beginning of 
the notice: 

“IF YOU FAIL TO FILE A WRITTEN ANSWER TO THIS NOTICE WITHIN 20 DAYS AFTER 
SERVICE, OR IF YOU FAIL TO APPEAR AT THE STATE BAR COURT TRIAL: 

(1) YOUR DEFAULT WILL BE ENTERED;  
(2) YOUR STATUS WILL BE CHANGED TO INACTIVE AND YOU WILL 

NOT BE PERMITTED TO PRACTICE LAW; 
(3) YOU WILL NOT BE PERMITTED TO PARTICIPATE FURTHER IN THESE 

PROCEEDINGS UNLESS YOU MAKE A TIMELY MOTION AND THE 
DEFAULT IS SET ASIDE; AND 

(4) YOU WILL BE SUBJECT TO ADDITIONAL DISCIPLINE. SPECIFICALLY,  IF 
YOU FAIL TO TIMELY MOVE TO SET ASIDE OR VACATE YOUR DEFAULT, THIS 
COURT WILL ENTER AN ORDER RECOMMENDING YOUR DISBARMENT AND 
MAY RECOMMEND THE IMPOSITION OF MONETARY SANCTIONS  WITHOUT 
FURTHER HEARING OR PROCEEDING. (SEE RULES PROC. OF STATE BAR, RULES 
5.80 ET SEQ. & 5.137., RULES OF PROCEDURE OF THE STATE BAR OF 
CALIFORNIA.)” 

Rule 5.44.1 Status Conferences 
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(A) Initial Status Conference. Following the filing of the initial pleading in a proceeding, 
the assigned judge shall order that a status conference be held in all proceedings. The 
conference may be held in court or by telephone or by other appropriate means. 

(B) Subjects Covered by Initial Status Conference. Parties participating shall be prepared 
to respond on the subjects specified in any order noticing the conference and, in 
addition, on the following items: 
(1) Jurisdiction and venue; 

The substance of the parties’ claims and defenses and the definition of 
genuinely controverted issues; 

(2) Whether monetary sanctions are being sought pursuant to Business and 
Professions Code section 6086.13 and rule 5.137 of the Rules of Procedure of 
the State Bar and the reasons; 

(3) Anticipated motions; 
(4) Further proceedings, including setting of dates for discovery cut-off, further 

status conferences, settlement conferences, pretrial and trial, and compliance 
with rules; 

(5) Modification of the standard pretrial procedures specified by this rule on 
account of the relative simplicity or complexity of the proceeding; 

(6) Prospects for settlement; and 
(7) Any other matters which may be conducive to the just, efficient, and 

economical determination of the proceeding. 

(C) Additional status conferences. Upon request of any party, or upon the assigned 
judge’s own motion, additional status conferences may be held at any time. 

Rule 5.55 Stipulations to Facts and Conclusions of Law 

(A) Generally. The parties in a disciplinary matter may stipulate to facts and conclusions of 
law regarding culpability but reserve the question of disposition. 

(B) Required Elements. A proposed stipulation to facts and conclusions of law must 
comprise: 

(1) a statement of the investigations or proceedings included; 
(2) the attorney’s acknowledgement of acts or omissions that are cause for 

discipline; 
(3) conclusions of law drawn from, and specifically referring to, the admitted facts 

regarding the attorney’s culpability; 
(4) a statement that the attorney either: 

(a) admits the truth of the facts comprising the stipulation and 
admits culpability for misconduct; or 

(b) pleads nolo contendere to those facts and misconduct; 
(5) an enumeration of any charges to be dismissed; 
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(6) a statement of the extent to which the stipulation resolves the proceeding; 
(7) the attorney’s acknowledgement of Business and Professions Code sections §§ 

6086.10, 6086.13, and 6140.7, and rule 5.137 of the Rules of Procedure of the 
State Bar; 

(8) a statement that the parties will or will not be bound by the stipulated facts even 
if the conclusions of law are rejected and regardless of the degree of discipline 
recommended or imposed; and 

(9) a statement that the attorney has been advised in writing of any pending 
investigations (except for any law enforcement agencies’ criminal investigations) 
or proceedings not resolved by the stipulation. 

(C) Plea of Nolo Contendere. If the attorney pleads nolo contendere, the stipulation must 
show that the attorney understands that the plea is treated as an admission of the 
stipulated facts and an admission of culpability. 

(D) Unresolved Pending Investigations and Proceedings. These must be identified by 
investigation case number or proceeding case number and any complaining witness’s 
name. The stipulation cannot contain the information but must show that all the 
information was provided to the attorney in a separate document within 30 days before 
the stipulation was filed. 

(E) Partial Stipulation. Partial stipulations to facts concerning aggravation and mitigation 
are allowed. The parties may waive an evidentiary hearing on these issues by submitting 
a stipulation containing a complete statement of aggravating and mitigating 
circumstances. 

Rule 5.56 Stipulations to Facts, Conclusions of Law, and Disposition 

(A) Contents. A proposed stipulation to facts, conclusions of law, and disposition must 
comprise: 

(1) an acknowledgement that proposed stipulations for disposition do not bind the 
Supreme Court; 

(2) a statement of the investigations or proceedings included; 
(3) the attorney’s acknowledgement of acts or omissions that are cause for 

discipline; 
(4) conclusions of law drawn from, and specifically referring to, the admitted facts 

regarding the attorney’s culpability; 
(5) a statement that the attorney either: 

(a) admits the truth of the facts comprising the stipulation and 
admits culpability for misconduct; or 

(b) pleads nolo contendere to those facts and misconduct; 
(6) the deputy trial counsel’s statement, if requested by the Court, that the factual 

stipulations are supported by evidence obtained in the State Bar investigation of 
the matter; 

(7) an enumeration of any charges to be dismissed; 
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(8) a statement of the extent to which the stipulation resolves the proceeding; 
(9) a statement of aggravating and mitigating circumstances; 
(10) the stipulated disposition and, if the stipulated disposition is actual suspension 

or disbarment, an agreement to the amount of monetary sanctions pursuant to 
Business and Professions Code section 6086.13 and rule 5.137 of the Rules of 
Procedure of the State Bar, whether a payment plan or extension of time will be 
allowed and the specifics of such plan or extension, or whether a waiver of the 
monetary sanction is agreed to, and the reasons for the above; 

(11) the attorney’s acknowledgement of Business and Professions Code sections  §§ 
 6086.10 and 6140.7; 

(12) a statement that the parties will or will not be bound by the stipulated 
 facts even if the conclusions of law and/or stipulated disposition are  rejected; 
and 

(13) a statement that the attorney has been advised in writing of any pending 
 investigations (except for any law enforcement agencies’ criminal 
 investigations) or proceedings not resolved by the stipulation. 

(B) Plea of Nolo Contendere. If the attorney pleads nolo contendere, the stipulation must 
also show that the attorney understands that the plea is treated as an admission of 
the stipulated facts and an admission of culpability. 

(C)  Unresolved Pending Investigations or Proceedings. These must be identified by 
investigation case number or proceeding case number and any complaining 
witness’s name. The stipulation cannot contain the information but must show that 
all the information was provided to the attorney in a separate document within 30 
days before the stipulation was filed. 

Rule 5.57 Stipulations to Disposition 

(A) Generally. The parties may stipulate to disposition after the Court decides – or the 
parties stipulate to – facts establishing culpability and conclusions of law. 

(B) Attachments. If the stipulation to disposition is supported by any factual findings or 
legal conclusions that are not in a written decision filed by the Court or a previously filed 
stipulation, those findings and conclusions must be included in, or attached to, the 
stipulation to disposition. 

(C) Required Elements. Stipulations to dispositions must comprise: 
(1) an acknowledgement that proposed stipulations for disposition do not bind 

the Supreme Court; 
(2) a statement of the investigations or proceedings included; 
(3) a statement of the extent to which the stipulation resolves the proceeding; 
(4) all factual stipulations regarding aggravation or mitigation that the parties wish 

to rely on; 
(5) the stipulated imposed disposition and, if the stipulated disposition is actual 
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suspension or disbarment, an agreement to the amount of monetary sanctions 
pursuant to Business and Professions Code section 6086.13 and rule 5.137 of the 
Rules of Procedure of the State Bar, whether a payment plan or extension of 
time will be allowed and the specifics of such plan or extension, or whether a 
waiver of the monetary sanction is agreed to, and the reasons for the above; 

(6) the attorney’s acknowledgement of Business and Professions Code sections §§ 
6086.10 and 6140.7; 

(7) a statement that the parties will or will not be bound by the stipulated facts even 
if the conclusions of law and/or stipulated disposition are rejected; and 

(8) a statement that the attorney has been advised in writing of any pending 
investigations (except for any law enforcement agencies’ criminal investigations) 
or proceedings not resolved by the stipulation. 

(D) Unresolved Pending Investigations or Proceedings. These must be identified by 
investigation case number or proceeding case number and any complaining witness’s 
name. The stipulation cannot contain the information but must show that all the 
information was provided to the attorney in a separate document within 30 days before 
the stipulation was filed.  

Chapter 4. Defaults 

Rule 5.80 Default Procedure for Failure to File Timely Response 

(A) Motion for Entry of Default. When an attorney fails to timely file a response, the 
deputy trial counsel must file and serve on the attorney a motion for entry of default. 
The motion must be filed within 15 days after the response is due, absent an 
agreement or order extending the time for filing by the attorney of a response, and 
must contain: 
(1) The filing date of notice and date of service of disciplinary charges; 
(2) A statement that the attorney did not timely file a response under rule 5.43; 
(3) The following language in prominent type: 

“If you do not file a response with the State Bar Court within 10 days of service 
of this motion, the court will enter your default, deem the facts in the notice of 
disciplinary charges admitted by you, and may admit evidence against you that 
would otherwise be inadmissible. You will lose the opportunity to participate 
further in these proceedings, unless you timely make—and the court grants—a 
motion to set aside your default. If your default is entered, and you fail to 
timely move to set it aside, this court will enter an order recommending your 
disbarment and may recommend the imposition of monetary sanctions without 
further hearing or proceeding.  (See Rules Proc. of State Bar, rules 5.80 et seq.  
and& 5.137.)”  

(4) An authenticated print-out of the certified mail tracking report of the United 
States Postal Service, showing that the mailing of the initiating pleadings or 
notice was sent by certified mail and the status of its delivery and possible 
receipt. 
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(B) Declaration of Reasonable Diligence. The motion must be supported by a declaration 
establishing that the deputy trial counsel acted with reasonable diligence to notify the 
attorney of the proceedings. The declaration must: 
(1) State whether a signed return receipt for the notice of disciplinary charges 

was received from the attorney; 
(2) If a signed return receipt is not received from the attorney, show the deputy 

trial counsel or agent took those additional steps a reasonable person would 
have taken under the circumstances to provide notice. 

(C) Service of Default Motion. The deputy trial counsel must serve the motion under rule 
5.25. 

(D) Order Entering Default. If the attorney fails to file a written response within 10 days 
after the motion is served, the Court may order the entry of the attorney’s default. 
Service of the default order must comply with rule 5.25. The order must include this 
language in prominent type: 
“Because you did not timely file a response to the notice of disciplinary charges filed in 
this proceeding, the Court has entered your default and deemed the facts alleged in 
the notice of disciplinary charges admitted. Except as ordered by the Court, you may 
participate in these proceedings only if the Court sets aside your default. If you fail to 
timely move to set aside your default, this Court will enter an order recommending 
your disbarment and may recommend the imposition of monetary sanctions without 
further hearing or proceeding. (See Rules Proc. of State Bar, rules 5.80 et seq.  and& 
5.137 Rules of Procedure of the State Bar of California.)”  

Rule 5.81 Default Procedure for Failure to Appear at Trial 

(A) Default for Failure to Appear at Trial. If the attorney fails to appear in person or by 
counsel at the trial, the Court must order the entry of the attorney’s default, if: 
(1) the notice of disciplinary charges was served on the attorney under rule 5.25; 

and 
(2) notice of trial was served by the Court by first class mail, postage paid, on: 

(a) the attorney’s counsel; 
(b) the attorney at the address provided in the response or in a change- of-

address notice filed by the attorney (if the attorney has no counsel); 
(c) the attorney’s address in the State Bar’s attorney records (if the 

attorney has no counsel and has not provided any other address); or 
(d) an address allowed by rule 5.26. 

(B) Order Entering Default. The Court must order the Clerk to promptly file and serve the 
default order on all parties. Service must comply with rule 5.25. The order must 
include the following language in prominent type: 
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“Because you failed to appear at trial, the Court has entered your default and deemed 
the facts alleged in the notice of disciplinary charges admitted. Except as ordered by 
the Court, you may participate in these proceedings only if the Court sets aside your 
default. If you fail to timely move to set aside your default, this Court will enter an 
order recommending your disbarment and may recommend the imposition of monetary 
sanctions without further hearing or proceeding. (See Rules Proc. of State Bar, rules 
5.80 et seq. and& 5.137.)”rule 5.80 et seq., Rules of Procedure of the State Bar of 
California.)” 

(C) Effects of Default on Trial. If the Court determines that the perpetuation of evidence 
is pertinent to any future inquiry into the attorney’s conduct or qualification to 
practice law, or if other good cause is shown, the trial may proceed for such limited 
purpose. 

Rule 5.82 Effects of Default. 

If the Court enters an attorney’s default: 
(1) the attorney will be enrolled as an inactive attorney of the State Bar and will not be 

permitted to practice law; 
(2) the facts alleged in the notice of disciplinary charges will be deemed admitted; 
(3) except as allowed by these rules or ordered by the Court, the attorney will not be 

permitted to participate further in the proceeding and will not receive any further 
notices or pleadings unless the default is set aside on timely motion or by stipulation; 
and 

(4) the Court will recommend that the attorney be disbarred and may recommend the 
imposition of monetary sanctions. 

Rule 5.85 Petition for Disbarment After Default 

(A) Petition. If the attorney fails to have the default set aside or vacated, the Office of 
Chief Trial Counsel must file a petition requesting the Court to recommend the 
attorney’s disbarment to the Supreme Court. The petition must be supported by one 
or more declarations stating whether: 
(1) any contact with the attorney has occurred since the default was entered; 
(2) any other investigations or disciplinary charges are pending against the 

attorney; 
(3) the attorney has a prior record of discipline; and 
(4) the Client Security Fund has paid out claims as a result of the attorney’s 

misconduct. 

(B) Support for Petition. All documents referenced in a petition, including prior records of 
discipline, must be filed with the petition and supported by declaration. 

(C) Timing of Petition. The earliest a petition may be filed is: 
(1) 91 days after the default order is served under rule 5.80, or 
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(2) 46 days after the default order is served under rule 5.81. 

(D) Service. The Office of Chief Trial Counsel must serve the petition under rule 5.25, and 
must file a petition for disbarment within 15 days after it becomes entitled to do so 
pursuant to this rule. 

(E) Response. Within 20 days of service of the petition, the attorney may file and serve a 
motion to set aside or vacate the default. 

(F) Ruling. 
(1) If the attorney fails to file a response or the Court denies a motion to set aside 

or vacate the default and all other relief from default, the Court must 
recommend the attorney’s disbarment and may recommend the imposition of 
monetary sanctions if the evidence shows: 
(a) The notice of disciplinary charges was served on the attorney properly;  
(b) The attorney had actual notice or reasonable diligence was used to 

notify the attorney of the proceedings prior to the entry of default; 
(c) The default was properly entered; and 
(d) The factual allegations deemed admitted in the notice of disciplinary 

charges or pursuant to the notice of hearing on conviction support a 
finding that the attorney violated a statute, rule or court order that 
would warrant the imposition of discipline. 

(2) If the Court determines that any of the factors set forth under subdivision (1) is 
not established, it must deny the petition, vacate the default, and take other 
appropriate action to ensure that the matter is promptly resolved. 

Chapter 5. Trials 

Rule 5.101 Pretrial Statements and Pretrial Conferences 

(A) Preparation of Pretrial Statements. Unless the court orders that a pretrial 
statement need not be prepared, all counsel must meet in person or by telephone 
prior to the date on which the pretrial statement is due to be filed and discuss: 
(1)  Preparation of a joint pretrial statement; 
(2)  Coordination of pretrial statements if no agreement is reached on the

 filing of a joint pretrial statement; and 
(3)  The factors set forth in paragraph (C). 

(B) Time for Pretrial Statements. The parties must file and serve pretrial statements 
at least 10 days before the pretrial conference, or as the court orders. 

(C) Contents of Pretrial Statements and Exchange of Exhibits. Unless otherwise 
ordered by the court, the pretrial statements shall include the following heading 
and information:  
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(1) Party. The names of the party or parties on whose behalf the statement is filed.  
(2) Attempts to comply: If a joint pretrial statement is not submitted, the parties will 

summarize their efforts to comply with Rule 5.101(A)(1) and Rule 5.101 (A)(2). 
(3) Substance of the proceeding. A description of the substance of the charges or 

claims and defenses presented and of the issues to be decided. 
(4) Undisputed facts. A plain and concise statement of all material facts not 

reasonably disputable. Counsel are expected to make a good faith effort to 
stipulate to all facts not reasonably disputable for incorporation into the trial 
record without the necessity of supporting testimony or exhibits. 

(5) Disputed issues. A plain and concise statement of all disputed factual issues, 
evidentiary issues, and claims of work product or privilege. 

(6) Disposition sought in disciplinary proceedings. A statement as to the disposition 
sought if culpability is found and in other proceedings, a statement of the relief 
sought. If the disposition sought is actual suspension or disbarment, a statement as to 
each party’s position regarding the amount of monetary sanctions pursuant to 
Business and Professions Code section 6086.13 and rule 5.137 of the Rules of 
Procedure of the State Bar, whether a payment plan or extension of time will be 
allowed and the specifics of such plan or extension, or whether a waiver of the 
monetary sanction is agreed to, and the reasons for the above. No party shall be 
bound by presentations as to disposition sought. 

(7) Points of law. A concise statement of each disputed point of law with respect to 
the issues in the proceeding, with reference to statutes, rules, and decisions relied 
upon. 

(8) Witnesses to be called. A list of all witnesses likely to be called at trial, together 
with a statement following each name describing the substance of the testimony 
to be given, any anticipated difficulty in scheduling the witness, and any special 
needs of the witness, such as a need for an interpreter. 

(9) Further discovery or motions. A statement of all remaining discovery or motions. 
(10) Stipulations. A statement of stipulations requested or proposed for pretrial or 

trial purposes. 
(11) Amendments; dismissals. A statement of requested or proposed amendments to 

pleadings or dismissals of parties, charges, claims, or defenses. 
(12) Settlement discussion. A statement summarizing the status, but not the 

substance settlement, of settlement negotiations and indicating whether further 
negotiations are likely to be productive. 

(13) Bifurcation; separate trial of issues. A statement whether bifurcation or a 
separate trial of specific issues is feasible and desired. 

(14) Limitation of experts. A statement whether limitation of the number of 
expert witnesses is feasible and desired. 

(15) Estimate of trial time. An estimate of the number of court days expected to be 
required for the presentation of each party’s case. Counsel are expected to make 
a good faith effort to reduce the time required for trial by all means reasonably 
feasible, including stipulations, expedited means of presenting testimony and 
exhibits, and the avoidance of cumulative proof.  
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(16)  Claim of privilege or work product. A statement indicating whether any of the 
matters otherwise required to be stated by this rule is claimed to be covered by 
the work product or other privilege. Upon such indication, such matters may be 
omitted subject to further order at the pretrial conference. 

(17)  Failure to cooperate. A statement as to any failure of opposing counsel to 
cooperate in meeting and conferring on pretrial issues. If established, such failure 
may constitute grounds for such orders as the court deems proper, including, but 
not limited to, the exclusion of evidence and witnesses. 

(18)  Miscellaneous. Any other subjects relevant to the trial of the proceeding, or 
material to its just, efficient, and economical determination. 

(D) Pretrial Conference Rulings. At the pretrial conference, the court may rule on any 
objections to the pretrial statements and may order the pretrial statements to be 
amended or supplemented.  

(E) Failure to File Pretrial Statements. If a party fails to file a pretrial statement, the 
court may order sanctions it deems proper, including, but not limited to, excluding 
evidence or witnesses.   

Rule 5.102.1 Order of Proof in Disciplinary Proceedings 

In disciplinary proceedings, the parties shall present evidence as to culpability prior to presenting 
evidence as to aggravating or mitigating circumstances , or monetary sanctions, except as 
ordered by the court. 

Chapter 6. Dispositions and Costs 

Rule 5.132 Stipulating to Relief from Payment of Costs or Extension of Time to Pay Costs 

By written stipulation entered into between an attorney and the Office of Chief Trial Counsel, the 
court approved by the Court, the Chief Trial Counsel may relieve the attorney, in 
whole or in part, from the obligation to pay the costs of disciplinary proceedings, or, with the 
approval of the Court, the court may agree to extend the time to pay these costs on grounds of 
hardship, special circumstances, or other good cause. 

Rule 5.134 Effect of Default on Installment Payments 

In any disciplinary recommendation or order providing for installment payments of discipline 
costs, monetary sanctions, or restitution, the Court must recommend or order that if the 
attorney fails to timely make any installment payment, the unpaid balance is due and payable 
immediately unless relief is granted under these rules. 
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Rule 5.136 Reimbursement to Client Security Fund 

In any disciplinary recommendation or order that includes payment to a third party, the cCourt 
must include a recommendation or order that the attorney reimburse the Client Security Fund to 
the extent the named payee receives reimbursement from the Client Security Fund  for any funds 
paid out under Business and Professions Code section § 6140.5 because of the attorney’s 
misconduct for all or part of the recommended or ordered payment. Unless the Supreme Court 
orders otherwise or unless relief has been granted under these rules, the ordered reimbursement 
must be paid within 30 days after the effective date of the final disciplinary order or within 30 days 
after the date of the final Client Security Fund  determinationpayment is disbursed, whichever is 
later. 

Rule 5.137 Imposition and Payment of Monetary Sanctions (Bus. & Prof. Code, § 6086.13.) 

(A) The Supreme Court May Order Monetary Sanctions. In any disciplinary proceeding in 
which the licensee is ordered actually suspended, disbarred, or resigns with charges 
pending, the Supreme Court may order the payment of a monetary sanction not to exceed 
$5,000 for each violation, to a maximum of $50,000 per disciplinary order.  

(B) Violation Defined. For the purposes of this rule, "violation" means (1) each count 
(including its subparts) contained in a Notice of Disciplinary Charges for which the State Bar 
Court has found the licensee culpable; (2), or each violation of a rule or statute the attorney 
admits to have violated in a stipulation; or (3) each record of criminal conviction transmitted 
to State Bar Court pursuant to rule 5.341, regardless of the number of convictions contained 
in the transmittal.  

(C) Monetary Sanctions Payable To Client Security Fund. Imposed monetary sanctions 
collected under this rule shall be deposited into the Client Security Fund.  

(D) Monetary  Sanctions and Criminal Penalties or Civil Judgments. Monetary sanctions 
shall not be collected to the extent that collection would impair the collection of criminal 
penalties or civil judgments arising out of transactions connected with discipline of the 
licensee. If monetary sanctions are collected and such criminal penalties or civil judgments 
are otherwise uncollectible, those penalties or judgments may be reimbursed from the 
Client Security Fund to the extent of the monetary sanctions collected.  

(E) Guidelines for Imposition and Collection of Monetary Sanctions. 

(1) In any disciplinary  proceeding described in subdivision (A), the State Bar Court 
shall make recommendations to the Supreme Court regarding monetary sanctions 
and shall provide reasons for its recommendation.  

(2) To determine the appropriate monetary sanction to recommend pursuant to 

subdivision (A), the State Bar Court shall consider all facts and circumstances of the 
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discipline case and be guided by the following amounts as a total sanction per 
Supreme Court order:  

(a) For disbarment: up to $5,000.  
(b) For an actual suspension: up to $2,500. 
(c) For a resignation with charges pending: up to $1,000. 

(3) The State Bar Court may, in its discretion, deviate from the ranges set forth in 
subdivision (E)(2) to a maximum of $5,000 for each violation, and $50,000 for each 
disciplinary order.  

(a) Deviations from these ranges should be reasonably based on the facts and 
circumstances of each discipline case.  
(b) If the same conduct is encompassed by two or more separate violations, 
the Court generally should not impose more than one monetary sanction for 
that conduct. Instead, the Court should consider the most serious applicable 
violation for that conduct.  

(4) The State Bar Court may, in its discretion, recommend that the monetary  
sanction be waived, in whole or in part, or be paid in installments, or the time to pay 
be extended based on a finding of financial hardship, special circumstances, whether 
a licensee's ability to pay criminal or civil judgments arising out of the discipline case 
is adversely affected, for good cause, or in the interests of justice. The burden of  
proof by preponderance of the evidence will be on the licensee to provide financial 
records and/or other proof to support any argument that the monetary sanction be 
waived, in whole or in part, or be paid in installments, or the time to pay be  
extended. The State Bar Court must state reasons for its ruling.  

(5) The Office of Chief Trial Counsel of the State Bar may enter into a stipulation with 
the licensee regarding whether monetary sanctions should be ordered or waived; if 
ordered, in what amount; whether a payment plan or extension of time will be  
allowed, and the specifics of such plan or extension;  and the reasons for the  
stipulation to or waiver of the monetary sanctions. If a stipulation is to actual  
suspension or disbarment, the parties must agree as part of the stipulation whether 
(1) monetary sanctions should be ordered or waived; if ordered, in what amount; (2) 
a payment plan or extension of time has been agreed upon and the specifics of such 
plan or extension; and (3) the reasons for the agreement to or waiver of the  
monetary sanctions.  All stipulations must be accepted and  
approved by the State Bar Court pursuant to rule 5.58. 

 (6) A licensee may seek relief from an order of monetary sanctions, an extension of 
time to pay the sanctions, or request a compromise of judgment, through a motion 
filed with the State Bar Court, following the motion procedure and based on the  
grounds set forth in the Rules of Procedure of the State Bar. The burden of proof by 
preponderance of the evidence will be on the licensee to provide financial records 
and/or other proof to support the motion. The State Bar Court must state reasons 
for its ruling.  
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(7) Payment of restitution must be made in full before payment of any monetary 
sanctions.  

(F) Reinstatement. Monetary sanctions shall be paid in full as a condition of reinstatement 
or return to active status, unless time for payment is extended pursuant to this rule.  

(G) Collection. Imposed monetary sanctions ordered under this rule are enforceable as a 
money judgment and may be collected through any means provided by law. 

 (H) Application.  This rule shall apply to all disciplinary and criminal conviction proceedings 
commenced and stipulations signed on or after April 1, 2020. 

Rule 5.138 Motions for Relief from Complying or Extension of Time to Comply with Order 
Imposing Monetary Sanctions.  

(A) Motion for Relief.  If monetary sanctions have been assessed against an attorney under 
rule 5.137, the attorney may move for relief, in whole or in part, from the order 
imposing sanctions, for an extension of time to pay sanctions, or for the compromise of 
a judgment obtained under rule 5.137(G) on grounds of financial hardship, special 
circumstances, whether a licensee's ability to pay criminal or civil judgments arising out 
of the discipline case is adversely affected, for good cause, or in the interests of justice.  
The motion must be served on the Office of Chief Trial Counsel under rule 5.26.  If the 
motion is based, in whole or in part, on financial hardship, it must be filed as soon as 
practicable after the circumstances giving rise to the financial hardship become known 
and be accompanied by the attorney’s completed financial statement in the form 
prescribed by the court. Otherwise, the motion may be filed within 30 days after the 
filing of a Supreme Court disciplinary order.  

(B) Response to Motion. The Office of Chief Trial Counsel may file and serve a response to 
the motion within 20 days after the motion is served. 

(C) Hearing. No hearing on the motion is required. A hearing will be held only if the court, in 
its discretion, determines that it will materially contribute to the consideration of the 
motion. 

(D) Review. An order of the court on the motion is reviewable only under rule 5.150 and on 
grounds of error of law or abuse of discretion. 

Rule 5.139 Stipulating to Relief from Payment of Monetary Sanctions or Extension of Time to Pay 
Monetary Sanctions 

By written stipulation entered into between an attorney and the Office of Chief Trial Counsel, the 
court may relieve an attorney, in whole or in part, from the obligation to pay monetary sanctions, 
or the court may extend the time to pay these monetary sanctions on grounds of financial 
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hardship, special circumstances, whether a licensee’s ability to pay criminal or civil judgments 
arising out of the discipline case is adversely affected, for good cause, or in the interests of justice. 

Division 3. Review Department and Powers Delegated by Supreme Court 

Rule 5.157 Summary Review Program 

(A) Scope for Summary Review. The Review Department may summarily review matters 
raising legal issues on review that can be decided without a transcript of the entire 
record of State Bar hearings or the normal briefing schedule. 

(B) Eligibility for Summary Review. A matter is eligible for summary review if the 
requesting party does not challenge the hearing judge’s findings of fact. The decision 
of the hearing judge will be the final State Bar Court decision on all material findings of 
fact and the parties will be bound by the facts as provided for under rule 5.54. The 
issues on review are limited to: 
(1) contentions that the facts support conclusions of law different from those 

reached by the hearing judge; 
(2) disagreement about the appropriate disposition, or degree of discipline, or 

monetary sanctions; or 
(3) other questions of law. 

(C) Issues Waived. Any issue or contention not raised by the parties is waived. 

(D) Inapplicable and Applicable Rules. Rules 5.151 – 5.154 do not apply to summary 
review matters. Rules 5.155, 5.156, and 5.158 apply to summary review matters. 

(E) Requests for Summary Review. 
(1) A party must ask the Review Department to designate the matter for summary 

review. The request must be filed within 30 days after the hearing judge’s 
decision is served or, if a post-trial motion has been made, within 30 days after 
the hearing judge’s ruling on the motion. 

(2) If review is sought under rule 5.151, the Review Department may notify the 
parties on its own motion that it considers the matter eligible for summary 
review, and may invite the party seeking review to elect summary review. If the 
party declines to elect summary review, the matter will proceed under rules 
5.151-5.154. 

(3) If a request for summary review under this rule and a request for review under 
rule 5.151 are both timely filed in the same proceeding, the matter will proceed 
under rules 5.151-5.154. But the Review Department may apply subsection 
(E)(2) of this rule. 

(F) Opening Memorandum. Instead of an opening brief, the party seeking summary 
review must file an opening memorandum within 20 days after the order designating 
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the proceeding for summary review is served. The memorandum must not exceed 20 
pages. It must include a copy of the decision from which review is sought and: 
(1) concisely state the issues for review, including, if applicable, how the 

conclusions of law or disposition or both should be modified; 
(2) list the supporting authorities cited for the contentions raised on review, and 

concisely state the proposition for which each authority is cited; and 
(3) state whether or not oral argument is requested. 

(G) Responsive Memorandum. Within 15 days after the opening memorandum is served, the 
opposing party may file a responsive memorandum that does not exceed 20 pages and: 
(1) states whether the party disputes any issue raised or relief requested in the 

opening memorandum, and, if so, the party’s position on the disputed issue or 
request for relief; 

(2) states whether the party believes summary review is not proper; 
(3) concisely states any additional issues for review, including, if applicable, how the 

conclusions of law or disposition or both should be modified; 
(4) lists the supporting authorities cited for the party’s position, and concisely state 

the proposition for which each authority is cited; and 
(5) states whether or not oral argument is requested. 

(H) Reply Memorandum. Within 10 days after the responsive memorandum is served, the 
party seeking summary review may file a reply memorandum not to exceed five pages 
addressing any new issues raised in the responsive memorandum. 

(I) Oral Argument. Unless specifically requested by a party or ordered by the Review 
Department on its own motion, oral argument will not be heard in summary review 
proceedings. If requested or ordered, oral argument will be by telephone conference on 
15 days’ notice. The telephone conference will originate from one or more designated 
courtrooms that will be open to the public if the proceeding is public.  The judges of the 
Review Department may participate from designated courtrooms at different locations. 
Each party may present its oral argument either by telephone or in person at one of the 
designated courtrooms. 

(J)  Full Record After Summary Review Granted. 
(1) When summary review is granted, nothing in this rule restricts the Review 

Department’s authority to independently review the full record of State Bar 
proceedings or to require a full or partial transcript and briefing schedule before 
oral argument of any case. 

(2) If the Review Department determines that it needs to review the full record, it 
may order the matter reviewed under rules 5.151-5.154. In this event, the party 
requesting summary review may withdraw the request within 30 days after the 
Review Department’s order is served. 
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(K) Denial of Summary Review. If the Review Department determines that summary 
review is not appropriate, then within 10 days after the order is served, a party may 
request review under rule 5.151. 

(L)  Review by the Supreme Court. After the Review Department files its opinion in a 
summary review matter, a party who intends to petition the Supreme Court for 
review must first file with the Review Department a certification that a trial transcript 
has been ordered and appropriate payment has been made. The certification must be 
filed within 15 days from service of the Review Department’s opinion. The Supreme 
Court requires a complete record, including a trial transcript. 

Division 5 Probation Proceedings 

Chapter 2. Probation Revocation Proceedings 

Rule 5.312 Discipline Recommended in Probation Revocation Proceedings 

The cCourt may recommend imposing an actual suspension equal to or less than the period of 
stayed suspension. It may also recommend staying all or part of the actual suspension and 
imposing a new period of probation, which may be of a different duration or under different 
conditions than the original probation or both. The court must also make a recommendation 
regarding monetary sanctions, if applicable, pursuant to rule 5.137 of the Rules of Procedure, 
and set forth its reasons for its recommendation. 

Rule 5.343 Summary Disbarment 

The Office of Chief Trial Counsel may file a motion for the attorney’s summary disbarment under 
Business and Professions Code § section 6102, subdivision (c)(1) or (2).  The Office of Chief Trial 
Counsel’s motion must include the amount of monetary sanctions sought pursuant to Business and 
Professions Code section 6086.13 and rule 5.137 of the Rules of Procedure of the State Bar, whether a 
payment plan or extension of time will be allowed and the specifics of such plan or extension, or 
whether a waiver of the monetary sanction is agreed to, and the reasons for the above. The 
motion must be filed concurrently with the record of conviction showing that the conviction is 
final. The attorney’s written response must be filed within 10 days after the motion is served. If 
the motion is pursuant to (c)(2), the Review Department may refer the case to the Hearing 
Department to determine if the facts and circumstances involve moral turpitude. 

Division 6 Special Proceedings 

Chapter 2. Conviction Proceedings 

Rule 5.345 Hearing Department Proceedings 

(A) Referred Proceeding; Notice. When a conviction proceeding is referred under rule 
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5.344, the Clerk will file and serve under rule 5.25 a notice of hearing on conviction. A copy 
of the order of referral must be attached to the notice as an exhibit. The notice must state 
that the attorney may be ordered to pay costs pursuant to Business and Professions Code 
section 6086.10 and monetary sanctions pursuant to section 6086.13 and rule 5.137 of the 
Rules of Procedure of the State Bar, and must include the following language in capital 
letters: 

“IF YOU FAIL TO FILE A WRITTEN ANSWER TO THIS NOTICE WITHIN 20 DAYS AFTER SERVICE, 
OR IF YOU FAIL TO APPEAR AT THE STATE BAR COURT TRIAL:  

(1) YOUR DEFAULT WILL BE ENTERED; 

(2) YOUR STATUS WILL BE CHANGED TO INACTIVE AND YOU WILL NOT BE 
PERMITTED  TO PRACTICE LAW;  

(3) YOU WILL NOT BE PERMITTED TO PARTICIPATE FURTHER IN THESE PROCEEDINGS 
UNLESS YOU MAKE A TIMELY MOTION AND THE DEFAULT IS SET ASIDE; AND  

(4) YOU WILL BE SUBJECT TO ADDITIONAL DISCIPLINE. SPECIFICALLY, IF YOU FAIL TO 
TIMELY MOVE TO SET ASIDE OR VACATE YOUR DEFAULT, THIS COURT WILL ENTER 
AN ORDER RECOMMENDING YOUR DISBARMENT  AND MAY RECOMMEND THE  
IMPOSITION OF MONETARY SANCTIONS WITHOUT FURTHER HEARING OR  
PROCEEDING.  (SEE RULES RPROC. OF STATE BAR, RULESULES OF PROCEDURE OF  
THE STATE BAR OF CALIFORNIA, RULES 5.80 ET SEQ. AND& 5.137.). UNDER THE  
RULES  OF PROCEDURE OF THE STATE BAR, YOU MUST FILE YOUR WRITTEN  
RESPONSE TO THIS NOTICE WITHIN 20 DAYS AFTER THIS NOTICE IS SERVED.”  

(B) Response to Notice. The attorney must file and serve a response to the notice within 20 
days after it is served, unless the cCourt grants an extension. The response must state the 
attorney’s position on the issues stated in the order of referral and must contain an address for 
service on the attorney.  

(C) State Bar Court Record. The State Bar Court record includes all court orders and documents 
on file with the Clerk of the State Bar Court in the proceeding, whether or not introduced in 
evidence. The evidence may include that permitted by Business and Professions Code section § 
6102, subdivision (g). 

Chapter 3. Proceedings Based on Professional Misconduct in Another Jurisdiction 

Rule 5.351 How Commenced; Notice of Disciplinary Charges; Response 

(A) Beginning Proceeding. A proceeding begins when a notice of disciplinary charges is 
filed and served on the attorney. 
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(B) Notice. A notice of disciplinary charges issued under these rules may state that its only 
basis is the findings and final order of the other jurisdiction that imposed discipline on 
the attorney. The notice must give sufficient detail to permit identification of the 
foreign disciplinary proceeding. The notice of disciplinary charges must also cite the 
California statutes or rules allegedly violated or that warrant the proposed action, and 
designate the specific finding(s) in the foreign proceeding supporting each allegation. 
The notice must state that the attorney may be ordered to pay costs pursuant to 
Business and Professions Code section 6086.10 and monetary sanctions pursuant to 
section 6086.13 and rule 5.137 of the Rules of Procedure of the State Bar, and must 
have attachments: 
(1) a certified copy of the foreign jurisdiction’s findings and final order; and 
(2) a copy of the statutes, rules, or court orders of the foreign jurisdiction found to 

have been violated by the attorney. 

(C) Response. Within 20 days after the notice of disciplinary charges is served, the 
attorney must file with the Clerk and serve on the Office of Chief Trial Counsel a 
response limited to the issues set forth in Business and Professions Code 
§ section 6049.1, subdivision (b)(1)–(3).

Division 7 Regulatory Proceedings 

Chapter 2. Resignation Proceedings 

Rule 5.427 Procedure for Consideration and Transmittal of Resignations with Disciplinary Charges 
Pending  

(A) Filing and Serving Resignation. The written resignation of an attorney against whom 
disciplinary charges are pending must be submitted to the Clerk of the State Bar Court in 
Los Angeles. The Clerk will file the resignation if it is dated, bears the attorney’s signature, 
and is in the form required by California Rules of Court, rRule 9.21(b). When the 
resignation is filed, the Clerk will serve a copy on the Office of Chief Trial Counsel.  

(B) Stipulation Regarding Pending Investigations, Complaints or Proceedings. Within 60 days 
from the date the resignation is filed, the attorney and the Office of Chief Trial Counsel 
must enter into a written stipulation as to the facts and conclusions of law regarding any 
disciplinary complaints, investigations or proceedings that are pending against the 
attorney at the time his or her resignation was filed, and monetary sanctions pursuant to 
Business and Professions Code section 6086.13 and rule 5.137 of the Rules of Procedure. 
The stipulation as to monetary sanctions must include the amount, whether a payment 
plan or extension of time will be allowed and the specifics of such plan or extension, or 
whether a waiver of the monetary sanction is agreed to, and the reasons for the above. If 
the attorney and the Office of Chief Trial Counsel have not entered into such stipulation, 
the Office of Chief Trial Counsel must report that fact and the reasons therefor to the 
Review Department in its report under subsection (C).  
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(C) Report by the Office of Chief Trial Counsel. Within 60 days from the date the resignation 
is filed, the Office of Chief Trial Counsel must file with the Review Department and serve 
upon the attorney pursuant to Rrule 5.25, a report setting forth the extent, if any, to 
which any of the factors enumerated in California Rules of Court, rule 9.21(d)Rule 9.21(d) 
of the California Rules of Court are present and whether, in light of the application of 
those factors, the attorney’s resignation should be accepted. All documents referenced in 
the report, including notices of disciplinary charges and prior records of discipline, must 
be filed with the report and supported by declaration.  

(D) Response to Report. Within 30 days of service of the Office of Chief Trial Counsel’s report, 
the attorney may file a response with the Review Department and must serve it on the 
Office of Chief Trial Counsel.  

(E) Decision or Order. Within 30 days of the filing of the attorney’s response to the Office of 
Chief Trial Counsel’s report or the expiration of the period for filing such response, 
whichever occurs first, the Review Department will file an order or decision pursuant to 
California Rules of Court, rule 9.21(c)Rule 9.21(c) of the California Rules of Court 
recommending, in light of the factors enumerated in rRule 9.21(d), whether the attorney’s 
resignation should be accepted by the Supreme Court and the reasons for the Review 
Department’s recommendation. The Review Department’s order or decision must also set 
forth the State Bar Court’s recommendation regarding monetary sanctions and the 
reasons for its recommendation.   

(F) Transmittal of Resignation. Within 15 days of the filing of the Review Department’s order 
regarding the attorney’s resignation, the Clerk of the State Bar Court shall transmit the 
attorney’s resignation to the Clerk of the Supreme Court, together with the Review 
Department’s order or decision regarding acceptance or rejection of the resignation. 

Chapter 3. Reinstatement Proceedings 

Rule 5.441 Filing Requirements 

(A) Filing Petition, Disclosure Statement, and Authorization and Release. A petitioner must 
complete and verify a petition and disclosure statement on the forms approved by the 
cCourt and in compliance with the instructions therein. The original and three copies of 
the petition must be filed with the Clerk of the State Bar Court. The disclosure statement 
is not filed with the cCourt but must be served on the Office of Chief Trial Counsel. In 
addition, a petitioner must complete an authorization and release approved by the State 
Bar. The authorization and release is not filed with the cCourt but must be served on the 
Office of Chief Trial Counsel. 

(B) Pre-Filing Requirements and Proof. Prior to filing the petition, the petitioner must 
satisfy the following requirements and must attach proof of compliance to the petition: 
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(1) Fingerprints Submitted. Under Business and Professions Code section§ 6054, the 
petitioner must have submitted fingerprints to the California Department of 
Justice via Live Scan technology, or if the petitioner resides outside the state, two 
sets of original fingerprints on record cards furnished by the State Bar must have 
been submitted to the Office of Chief Trial Counsel;  

(2) Discipline Costs Paid and Monetary Sanctions Paid. Client Security Fund 
Payments Reimbursed. Unless the petitioner files a motion for extension of time 
for payment under these rules, or has already been granted an extension which 
has not expired at the time of the filing of the petition, pPetitioner must provide 
proof of payment of  have paid all discipline costs imposed under Business and 
Professions Code section § 6086.10 subdivision (a) and monetary sanctions 
imposed under Business and Professions Code section 6086.13, subdivision (a). 
(a)  and reimbursed all payments made by the Client Security Fund as a result of 
the petitioner’s conduct, plus applicable interest and costs, under Business and 
Professions Code § 6140.5(c). 

(3) Client Security Fund Payments Reimbursed. Petitioner must have reimbursed all 
payments made by the Client Security Fund as a result of the petitioner’s 
conduct, plus applicable interest and costs, under Business and Professions Code 
section 6140.5, subdivision (c). 

(2)(4) Passage of the Attorneys’ Examination. 
(a) Resigned with Charges Pending or Disbarred. Petitioners who resigned 

with charges pending or who were disbarred must establish that they 
have taken and passed the Attorneys’ Examination by the Committee of 
Bar Examiners within three years prior to the filing of the petition for 
reinstatement. 

(b) Resigned without Charges Pending. Petitioners who resigned without 
charges pending more than five years before filing the petition for 
reinstatement must establish that they have taken and passed the 
Attorneys’ Examination administered by the Committee of Bar 
Examiners within five years prior to the filing of the application for 
readmission or reinstatement. 

(C) Filing Fee. The petition must include a filing fee of $1,600, which will be given to the 
Office of Chief Trial Counsel to defray incurred costs. The Clerk will reject the petition for 
filing if the fee is not included. 

(D) Service. The petition and disclosure statement must be served on the Office of Chief 
Trial Counsel under rRule 5.25. 

(E) Dismissal. Failure to comply with any of the requirements of this rule will be grounds to 
dismiss the petition. 
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